|
Electronic
Databases A-Z
All databases may be accessed from inside the Library. Some
databases may be accessed from home. Licensing restrictions
may apply. Please see notes for each database.
American
History Online (In-Library
use only)
American
History Online
(Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Facts on File's reference guide to American history, with
events and topics, biographies, timelines, and primary sources.
Ancient
& Medieval History Online
(In-Library
use only)
Ancient
& Medieval History Online (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Facts On File's resource covers ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia,
ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient & medieval Africa,
medieval Europe, the Americas, and ancient & medieval
Asia. Includes biographies, videos, images, maps and charts,
primary source documents, and timeline entries
Antiques
Database (In-Library
use only)
Antiques
Database (Access from home or work; Belvedere
& Tiburon residents only)
The p4A Antiques Reference features photos and pricing information
drawn from fifty leading regional auction houses.
AskArt
(In-Library use only)
Biographical information, auction prices, and sample images
for over 34,000 American artists.
AtoZ
Maps Online (In-Library
use only)
Ato
Z Maps Online (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
World's largest subscription-based database of proprietary,
royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps.
Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical
maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps,
climate maps, and other thematic maps.
Biography
& Genealogy Master Index (In-Library
use only)
Biography
& Genealogy Master Index (Access from
home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
A citation-only index to biographical information appearing
in print sources. Maintained by the Gale Group.
Biography
Resource Center (In-Library use only)
Biography
Resource Center (Access from home or work;
Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Comprehensive database of biographical information. Maintained
by the Gale Group.
Business
Resource Premier (In-Library
use only)
Business
Resource Premier (Access
from home)
Provides comprehensive coverage in all disciplines of business.
Includes market research, industry reports, and company
profiles.
California
Libraries Catalog (In-Library use only)
California
Libraries Catalog (Access from home)
Search for books at libraries in California and across the
United States. To request a book from another library, please
ask at the Reference Desk or call 789-2661.
Career Cruising (In-Library
use only)
Career Cruising (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Comprehensive guide to learning about new careers. Includes assessment tools, information about specific occupations, and an easy resume builder. Locates training programs, colleges, financial aid, and other educational resources.
Consumer
Health Complete (In-Library
use only))
Consumer
Health Complete (Access
from home)
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer,
diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition &
dietetics, children's health, men & women's health,
etc.
EBSCO
Magazines & Newspapers 
(Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN)
An online reference database of general interest, business
& health magazines and newspapers. Includes both full
text and indexing as well as full text reference books.
e-Journal
Finder
(Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN)
Direct access to thousands of full-text newspapers and magazines
available from the Library's Web site: search or browse
by newspaper or magazine title.
Encyclopedia of Global
Warming (In-Library
use only)
Encyclopedia of Global
Warming (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Searchable access to Salem Press' Encyclopedia of Global Warming. Covers scientific research as well as public policy and social issues surrounding global warming and climate change.
Global
Road Warrior (In-Library
use only)
Global
Road Warrior (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Cultural and travel information for every country. Answers
practical questions about visas, currency, maps, etiquette,
and much more. Great for business travelers and student
country reports.
Gran
Enciclopedia Hispanica
(Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN)
A comprehensive Spanish-language encyclopedia that includes
over 100,000 articles, more than 9,000 images and maps,
and nearly 1,000 videos.
HeritageQuest
Online (In-Library use only)
HeritageQuest
Online (Access from home or work; Belvedere
& Tiburon residents only)
Genealogy resource featuring census data, family records
and local histories.
Homework HelpNow! (in-library
use only)
Homework HelpNow! (Access from
home; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Use HelpNow! to connect to live online
tutors in one-on-one sessions for homework help, skills building, writing lab, adult education and more. Available in Spanish as well as English. Homework HelpNow! is powered by Brainfuse.
Literary
Reference Center (In-Library
use only)
Literary
Reference Center (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information
from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias
and reference works, and hundreds of literary journals.
Mango
Languages
(In-Library
use only)
Mango
Languages (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Mango's unique teaching method quickly engages you in real
conversations between two native speakers. Your instructor
will take you through every step of the process! Each lesson
revisits previously learned material, but you have complete
control over your learning experience.
Modern
World History Online
(In-Library
use only)
Modern
World History Online (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Facts On File's resource covering the full scope of world
history from the mid-15th century to the present. Includes
biographies, videos, images, maps and charts, primary source
documents, and timeline entries.
NetLibrary
(Remote access requires a MARINet library
card & PIN,
and a member account which must initially be set up inside
the library.)
A collection of over 5000 full-text electronic books.
Newspaper
Index (Remote access requires MARINet
library
card & PIN)
The ProQuest database of over 500 National and International
newspapers including the San Francisco Chronicle, the New
York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
NoveList
(Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN.)
Readers' Advisory resource. Find new fiction books and authors
based on your old favorites.
NoveList
K-8 (Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN.)
Especially for our younger readers! This special access
to the NoveList database has been designed with children
in mind. It makes it easy to find good books to read.
Points
of View (In-Library
use only)
Points
of View (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Excellent resource for staying current on controversial
issues. Also good for research reports or preparing for
a debate.
Overdrive
Digital Book and Music Download Center (Requires
MARINet library
card & PIN.)
The Overdrive/Califa Digital Download Center features hundreds
of ebooks, audio books, and digital music that you can download
for use on your personal computer, PDA, or portable MP3
player. These materials are not available for download to
Library computers.
Pro
& Con Online (In-Library use only)
Searchable archives of Congressional Digest, Supreme Court
Debates, and International Debates.
Rand
California Statistics Database (In-Library
use only)
Rand
California Statistics Database (Remote
access requires MARINet library
card)
California and U.S. statistics and public policy resources
covering business, health, education, government, crime,
and population.
Reference
USA (In-Library use only)
Reference
USA (Access from home or work; Belvedere
& Tiburon residents only)
Directory information on US businesses and residences.
Safari
Tech Books Online (Remote access requires
MARINet library
card & PIN.)
A shared collection of e-books on computer topics from Safari
Tech Books Online, including titles published by O'Reilly
Press.
Salem
Health (In-Library use only)
Salem
Health (Access from home or work; Belvedere
& Tiburon residents only)
Searchable access to Magill's Medical Guide and
Salem Health: Cancer. Authoritative source for general
health and medical information with additional coverage
of cancer topics.
Salem
Musicians & Composers (In-Library
use only)
Salem
Musicians & Composers Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Searchable access to Salem Press' Musicians & Composers.
Biographical profiles of important figures in all genres
of music.
Science
Resource Center (In-Library use only)
Science
Resource Center (Access from home or work;
Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
A one-stop resource for all science-related research needs.
SRC's focus is on topics and concepts taught in school classrooms.
Student
Research Center (In-Library
use only)
Student
Research Center (Access
from home or work; Belvedere & Tiburon residents only)
Designed for Middle and High School students, this resource
searches through articles, books, primary sources, maps
& photos, and more to find the best information for
student papers and projects.
World
Book Encyclopedia Online Reference Center
(Remote access requires MARINet library
card & PIN.)
Online access to all articles from the print version plus
additional articles updated monthly, an online dictionary,
and a Spanish language encyclopedia, the Enciclopedia
Estudiantil Hallazgos.
World
of Poetry (In-Library use only)
World
of Poetry (Access from home or work; Belvedere
& Tiburon residents only)
Columbia Granger's full-text database of poetry, with commentaries
& biographies.
|